5 steps to success in 2024

new year, new sales goals

Hello to the 3.2k+ dedicated sales professionals, forward-thinking founders, consultants, and business owners keeping it real and authentic.

In today's 2-minute read, we're shifting gears to focus on a critical aspect of personal and professional growth as we approach the new year: setting SMART goals. Now I don’t believe in new year resolutions. Because they are met with resistance, are unrealistic and are not specific enough.

Just as we dissected the art of cold calling in the last edition, today we'll explore how to set effective goals that are Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Relevant, and Time-bound (SMART). This method is not just a buzzword; it's a proven framework that can transform your aspirations into tangible achievements.

Specific: Your goals should be clear and specific. Instead of saying, "I want to increase sales," try "I aim to increase sales by 15% in Q1 by targeting mid-market companies in the healthcare sector."

Measurable: Attach numbers or parameters to your goals. This makes it easier to track progress and stay motivated. For example, "I will add 20 new clients to my portfolio by the end of Q2."

Achievable: While it's great to aim high, your goals also need to be realistic and attainable. Assess your resources and constraints before setting your goals.

Relevant: Ensure your goals align with your broader business objectives and personal career aspirations. A relevant goal for a sales professional might be, "I will complete an advanced sales training course by Q3 to enhance my consultative selling skills."

Time-bound: Every goal needs a deadline. This helps you prioritize tasks and creates a sense of urgency. For instance, "By the end of Q1, I will have restructured my sales pipeline and will add 15% more, with better disqualification"

As we prepare for the new year, I encourage each of you to take some time to reflect on your goals. Use the SMART framework to craft goals that are not just wishes but actionable plans that will drive your success in the coming year.

Bonus Tip: Write down your goals and revisit them regularly. This simple act of writing and reviewing can increase your chances of achieving them. I have mine on a whiteboard so I can see them when I work.

Let's make the upcoming year our most successful yet, with clear, well-defined, and achievable goals.

Are you a sales professional, solopreneur, consultant or SME owner and need to level up your social selling and friendly cold outreach system?

I will be launching group sessions in the new year…more to come, if you want a preview of what we will cover, reply with YEH.

THANK YOU for choosing Sales Shares this year, without YOU, I wouldn’t have been able to turn my side hustle into my main business this year.

See my LinkedIn post on 31 things I learned in 2023:

If you’ve read this far, here’s how else I can help you:

Wanna build your very own top 1% creator LinkedIn social selling strategy and drive real revenue from LinkedIn?

Ideal for sales professionals, solopreneurs and consultants who want to build a sales and LinkedIn strategy.

Is your B2B team missing the mark with social selling and cold outreach?

Join the conversation

or to participate.